top of page

Previous Editions: WAISE 2021

Fourth International Workshop on

Artificial Intelligence

Safety Engineering 


Sept 7th, 2021

Anchor 1
Starting time: 12:00 UTC, 13:00 BST,
14:00 CEST, 08:00 EST, 21:00 JST

(The times below are in UTC)

Opening and welcome to WAISE 2021, Organisation Committee

Session 1: Automated Driving Safety
Chair: Orlando Ávila Garcia


An Integrated Approach to a Safety Argumentation for AI-based Perception Functions in Automated Driving 

Michael Mock, Stephan Scholz, Frederik Blank, Fabian Hüger, Andreas Rohatschek, Loren Schwarz and Thomas Stauner


Experimental Conformance Evaluation on UBER ATG Safety Case Framework with ANSL/UL 4600

Kenji Taguchi and Fuyuki Ishikawa


A New Approach to Better Consensus Building and Agreement Implementation for Trustworthy AI Systems 

Yukiko Yanagisawa and Yasuhiko Yokote


Session Discussion

Session 2: AI Safety
Chair: Rob Ashmore


Deep Neural Network Uncertainty Estimation with Stochastic Inputs for Robust Aerial Navigation Policies

Fabio Arnez, Huascar Espinoza, Ansgar Radermacher and François Terrier


No Free Lunch: Overcoming Reward Gaming in AI Safety Gridworlds

Mariya Tsvarkaleva and Louise Dennis



Effect of label noise on robustness of deep neural network object detectors

Bishwo Adhikari, Jukka Peltomäki, Saeed Bakhshi Germi, Esa Rahtu and Heikki Huttunen


Human-in-the-Loop Learning Methods Toward Safe DL-based Autonomous Systems: A Review

Prajit T Rajendran, Huascar Espinoza, Agnes Delaborde and Chokri Mraidha


Session Discussion


Comfort Break

Keynote Talk
Chair: Chih-Hong Cheng


Session 3: Assurances for Autonomous Systems
Chair: Mauricio Castillo-Effen


Levels of Autonomy & Safety Assurance for AI-based Clinical Decision Systems 

Paul Festor, Ibrahim Habil, Yan Jia, Anthony Gordon, A. Aldo Faisal and Matthieu Komorowski


Certification Game for the Operational Safety Analysis of AI-based CPS

Imane Lamrani, Ayan Banerjee and Sandeep Gupta


Learning From AV Safety: Hope and Humility Shape Policy and Progress

Marjory Blumenthal


Session Discussion


Comfort Break

New Ideas and Emerging Results
Chair: Zakaria Chihani

Towards a Common Testing Terminology for Software Engineering and Artificial Intelligence Experts

Lisa Joeckel, Thomas Bauer, Marc Hauer, Michael Klaes and Janek Gross


IEEE P7009 Standard on Fail-Safe Design of Autonomous and Semi-Autonomous Systems 

Ken Wallace


European Training Network for Safer Autonomous Systems

Orian Dheu, Raul Sena Ferreira, Haris Aftab



Plenary Discussion
Chair: Philip Koopman

Plenary Discussion "Towards the Last Mile in Engineering Safe AI Systems"


WAISE 2021 Wrap Up


Organization Committee

  • Orlando Avila-García, Arquimea Reserch Center, Spain 

  • Mauricio Castillo-Effen, Lockheed Martin, USA
    Chih-Hong Cheng, DENSO, Germany

  • Zakaria Chihani, CEA LIST, France 

  • Simos Gerasimou, University of York, UK

Steering Committee

  • Rob Alexander, University of York, UK

  • Huascar Espinoza, CEA LIST, France

  • Philip Koopman, Carnegie Mellon University, USA

  • Stuart Russell, UC Berkeley, USA

  • Raja Chatila, ISIR - Sorbonne University, France 

Programme Committee

  • Vincent Aravantinos, Autonomous Intelligent Driving GmbH, Germany

  • Rob Ashmore, Defence Science and Technology Laboratory, UK

  • Alec BanksDefence Science and Technology Laboratory, UK

  • Markus Borg, RISE SICS, Sweden

  • Simon Burton, IKS Fraunhofer, DE

  • Raja Chatila, ISIR - Sorbonne University, France 

  • John Favaro, INTECS, Italy

  • Michael Fischer, University of Manchester, UK

  • Mario Gleirscher, University of York, UK

  • Jérémie Guiochet, LAAS-CNRS, France

  • Vahid Hashemi, Audi, Germany

  • José Hernández-Orallo, Universitat Politècnica de València, Spain

  • Nico Hochgeschwende, Bonn-Rhein-Sieg University, Germany

  • Bernhard Kaiser, ANSYS, Germany

  • Philip Koopman, Carnegie Mellon University, USA

  • Timo Latvala, Space Systems Finland, Finland

  • Chokri Mraidha, CEA LIST, France

  • Davy Pissoort, KU Leuven, Belgium

  • Mehrdad Saadatmand, RISE SICS, Sweden

  • Rick Salay, University of Waterloo, Canada

  • Erwin Schoitsch, Austrian Institute of Technology, Austria

  • Hao Shen, Fortiss, Germany

  • François Terrier, CEA LIST, France

  • Andreas Theodorou, Umea University, Sweeden

  • Mario Trapp, Fraunhofer ESK, Germany

  • Ilse Verdiesen, TU Delft, Netherlands

bottom of page